What Do You See?


candy-caneThe candy cane is a huge symbol of the Christmas season. Nearly all homes during Christmas has candy canes hanging on trees or laying somewhere in the home. What do you see when you look at a candy cane? There is much more to it than what meets the eye.

Christmas Candy Cane about Jesus

Look at the Candy Cane
What do you see?
Stripes that are red
Like the blood shed for me
White is for my Savior
Who’s sinless and pure!
“J” is for Jesus My Lord, that’s for sure!
Turn it around
And a staff you will see
Jesus my shepherd
Was born for Me!

Even the taste of peppermint is symbolic of hyssop. When Jesus was hanging on the cross, he was given a sponge of hyssop to relieve some of his pain, but he refused to take it.

When you put two candy canes together upside down, they create a heart to reflect the love of Jesus towards those whom he died for.

What do you see?

Remind yourself and your children the true purpose of Christmas. Jesus Christ was born to save sinners like you and me. Through his death, there is forgiveness of sins, through his stripes we are healed. Though I forget him, he still knows who I am. Though I am a coward, he is faithful. He was born sinless and pure in the most dirtiest of places.

What do you see?

I Would Love To Hear From You

